Inner City Blues Continue

12/03/2014

“Now it isn’t easy to stand up for truth and for justice. Sometimes it means being frustrated. When you tell the truth and take a stand, sometimes it means that you will walk the streets with a burdened heart. Sometimes it means losing a job, it means being abused and scorned”- MLK

“There are times in the life of every man who takes his stand on high moral principles when his faith in, and knowledge of, those principles is tested to the uttermost, and the way in which he comes out of the fiery trial decides as to whether he has sufficient strength to live as a man of Truth, and join the company of the free, or shall still remain a slave and a hireling to the cruel taskmaster.”- James Allen

My road of truth has become very rocky of late and life is giving me a fairly difficult time. I gave up almost everything in the pursuit of knowledge and spreading awareness to help open people’s eyes to the massive corruption that infects the whole world. Our lives are governed by fraud with the money masters sat at the top of the pyramid, high and mighty. Sometimes I wonder if it was all worth it, if I should have just put up and shut up and continued to make a comfortable living. But then no matter how hard it gets I only have to remember why I chose this path in the first place. It is because if we don’t make the change we want to see in the world then it will never come. The money masters make the changes they want to see in this world and we are worse off for it:

“Unless the present system is altered, that is all we have to look forward to; and yet you’re one of the upholders of the present system–you help to perpetuate it by not trying to find out how to end it–by not helping those who are trying to bring a better state of things into existence. Even if you are indifferent to your own fate–as you seem to be–you have no right to be indifferent to that of the child for whose existence in this world you are responsible. Every man who is not helping to bring about a better state of affairs for the future is helping to perpetuate the present misery, and is therefore the enemy of his own children. There is no such thing as being natural: we must either help or hinder.”

That quote is from the Ragged Trousered Philanthropists written over 100 years ago. Nothing has changed. The following lyrics are from Inner City Blues by Marvin Gaye written 40 years ago. Nothing has changed:

“Rockets, moon shots. Spend it on the have-nots. Money, we make it before we see it, you’ll take it.

Oh, make you wanna holler the way they do my life, make me wanna holler the way they do my life. This ain’t livin’, this ain’t livin’. No, no baby, this ain’t livin’, no, no, no, no.

Inflation, no chance to increase finance. Bills pile up, sky high, send that boy off to die. Oh, make you wanna holler the way they do my life, make me wanna holler the way they do my life.

Hang ups, let downs. Bad breaks, set-backs. Natural fact is honey, that I can’t pay my taxes. Oh, make me wanna holler And throw up both my hands. Yeah, it makes me wanna holler and throw up both my hands.

Crime is increasing. Trigger happy policing, Panic is spreading God knows where we’re heading. Oh, they don’t understand, make me wanna holler. They don’t understand.”

Do I want to have children and grandchildren living in a world that is even worse than it is now? No I don’t so I will continue down this path to change for as long as I can hold on. I just wish more people would join me.

This article is authored by Lee Cooper

Follow me on Twitter: @MCR_WAKE_UP

Follow me on YouTube: www.youtube.com/wakeuppromotions

 

 

Leave a Reply

